Upon the break-up of the Ottoman Empire, Britain and Egypt planned to occupy Sudan with distinct administrations for the Northern and Southern parts of the country.

The North Sudanese accepted the rule of the new Anglo - Egyptian regime, but the South Sudanese rejected it and continued to fight for their independence. This fight continued even after the independence of Sudan from that regime in 1956.

The South Sudanese voted for their independence from Sudan during the January 2011 referendum.

South Sudan was declared a sovereign state in 9 July 2011.


His Excellency GENERAL SALVA KIIR MAYARDIT is the President of the Republic of South Sudan.

Dr. John Garang:

Dr. John Garang de Mabior was a former First Vice President of Sudan and the first President of 
the Southern Sudanese Government.

Dr. Garang died before the Republic of the South Sudan was officially established.


The official language in South Sudan is English, although there are over 60 native languages in the country.


There are abundant opportunities in all sectors of the economy:

  • Petroleum: Large oil reserve land
  • Mining: Land rich in gold, copper, iron and uranium.
  • Agriculture: Vast areas of arable and pasturable lands.
  • Energy and Infrastructure: Many available opportunities.

General Information

South Sudan, born on July 9th, 2011, is the world’s youngest nation. 
98% of its citizens voted in favor of secession, after a referendum that took place in January 2011. 
South Sudan’s capital is Juba, which is also its largest city. It is a landlocked country, covers a total area of around 620,000 km2, and shares borders with 6 countries:

  • Sudan from the North
  • Ethiopia from the East
  • Kenya from the Southeast and the South
  • Uganda from the South
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo from the Southwest
  • Central African Republic from the West

The Nile River, which is considered the longest river in the world, flows through South Sudan. The Sudd, the world’s largest swamp is found in South Sudan. English is South Sudan’s official language, although there are over 60 native languages in the country.